[Resolved] Ran Registry Cleaner, System won't boot - HELP!!!

Hi. I’m new to this so please help me! I ran the Comodo registry cleaner on my emachines Windows XP PC. It found over 1500 items and I believe then suggested I compress the registry. Then it wanted me to reboot (or maybe it did it - I only saw those menu’s once) and now I can’t get back into my PC.

When I reboot, I can only get as far as the PC trying to load Windows. It gets stuck on the blue screen w/the windows logo in the center.

I can get access to F2, F8 and F10. I do not see anything in there that would allow me to get to a DOS prompt. I saw another user who may have had similar problems, and he deleted a couple of files and it seem to fix his. So I was just trying anything I could.

I am running Windows XP and do not have a start up disk. I do have recovery disks … but am concerned about losing data. We have lots of pictures. The recovery disk has 2 choices, Recovery which makes a copy of data and reinstalls windows (but I’m not sure that would fix the problem) or full reformat/trash the hard drive and start over.

Have I totally lost my who PC now? Please any help is appreciated!!!

P.S. MY pictures are on PC #2 and get backed up routinely. These are my teenage daughters pictures and she’s going to kill me!!! >:-D

OK, I couldn’t figure out how to add to my previous post, so this is a continuation of my post of this morning. I have not received any replies at this time.

I was able to get to a dos prompt and was able to go to the root drive of C:

The only thing there is one directory called system~1 and it is empty. No files anywhere. I know this hard disk was partitioned into C and D drives. It does not recognize the D drive.

What did this software do to my hard drive and what can I (or YOU) do about it? Please respond!

I am on facebook and I will post my experience.

Welcome to the forums, softballmom; sorry you’ve having such a rough time.