Recommendations please

Hello Newbie here,

Have XP Pro SP2. Wanting to purchase Firewall Pro Plus. In addition to this, what other security software would you suggest for total and complete peace of mind?

I have used ProSecurity, DefenseWall, Sandboxie, Returnil, Counterspy v2 and Superantispyware Pro before. Which of these would you recommend I keep and/or replace with something else?

Many thanks for your help.

Tom

Hi,

I would recommend Comodo BOclean for any computer. This is available free from:

http://www.comodo.com/boclean/boclean.html

I also run AVG 8 Pro - which includes anti-rootkit, web shield and quite a comprehensive scanning engine.

Jim

Thanks Jim. Let me ask you this - I thought Firewall Pro Plus (with A-Vsmart) doesn’t need an AV product. Would you still advise using an AV with it? Any conflicts in doing this? I do agree with adding BOclean.

Tom

Its always easier to use an AV. And there will be no conflicts as long as the AV dosn’t come bundled with a firewall.

Thanks. I may rethink going with FPP (A-VSMART) and go with just the Firewall Pro instead. It appears that nobody is using the Pro Plus (A-VSMART), but instead are using just the firewall + their own choice of AV.

What about the other Comodo add-ons?

I’d use V-Smart CP3 Plus if I was paying for antivirus this year but have decided to go with free options.

Comodo BoClean has a new version coming out (I think next Tuesday) and is a good addition to your computer protection. It even caught and removed a trojan on my computer before my Antivir PE Premium had a chance to react though my AV recommendation (PAID) is Antivir PE Premium which includes spyware detection in the paid version only.

these are mine :
CFP3 w/Defense+
Avast 4.8 (maybe i’m gonna switch to antivir 8 FREE later)
BOClean

i’ll use it if someone would pay for it ;D , but since nobody generous enough to do that, i use “different” approach ;D
pic removed