Qns from a newbie

Hi guys, I’m still new to CPF so there are some qns that I hope you could help me out in.

1. Is there a manual that guide us in “hardening” CPF? For example there’s a guide for the outpost firewall

http://www.outpostfirewall.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=9858

1. I understand that creating Network Control Rules seems to be the recommended action when using p2p programs. What benefit would there be over Application Control Rules? Network Control Rules doesn’t seem to allow me to specify the application I allow network access to.

2. Is there a way to create rules that include >2 non-adjacent IPs? For example we can include a few ports in the same rule but not IPs. And also for Ports, we can either choose Port Range/Set of Ports. Can we merge the two for both IPs & Ports? For example: 5612,45812,8564-8695 etc?

3. After adding/editing the Application Control Rules, the screen is refreshed & results in increased cpu usage. Is there a need for this to happen?

4. Can we include a rules’ title, especially for the Network Control Rules. It seems a little difficult to identify the use of each rule after a while.

Pardon me if some of my qns has already been asked/answered previously as I can’t seem to find them in the forum.

Welcome to the forums (:WAV)

I’ll attempt to answer your Qs in order… :wink:

1. Not specifically, no. However, here’s a good place to start, to gain a better understanding of CFP. https://forums.comodo.com/index.php/topic,6167.0.html. It’s a locked compilation of various tutorials, explanations, application issues, etc; just info, no questions. Each topic has an embedded link back to the original thread, where you can ask questions. That, and keep poking thru the forum; other users have asked specific questions about security issues they have had, so the info is available.