proper installation method [Resolved]

Removed CPF after a few weeks due to problems but wish to try again. I’m sure I read somewhere in the forum that the best way to install is to remove any other firewall, antivirus & antispyware programs currently installed before installing CPF. Then reinstall antivirus & antispyware programs. Could someone please verify this for me. Hope that doing installation exacty step by step will produce desired result this time around. Thanks in advance for your time & knowledge.

I’m new to Comodo and I too am facing problems with it and trying to find a solution. All I can do to help you is to that you only need to uninstall your previous firewall (if not just install Comodo) before installing Comodo. No need to unstall anti virus or other.

cheers :wink:

Definately remove any other firewall before installing comodo. It has been recommended for years that before installing any software you should disable any antivirus progs you have running, being a lazy ■■■■■■ nowadays I don’t bother with this any more. You could close progs in the system tray to free up more resources. I don’t really see any need to uninstall any anti spy. I didn’t and didn’t have any problems.
I had a few problems with comodo but perserved and things are rockin along now. I wonder if I should have said that (tempting fate)

Sullo (R)

There is a noob install guide in the faqs.

Good to have you back again, seadog. The safest procedure if you want to start from scratch without formatting your pc is to:

1. Have a backup of all your security setup files
  2. Disconnect from the internet (unplug your cables if you have to ;D)
  3. Uninstall all security programs (this includes completely disabling the Windows Firewall). Lots of reboots in between are expected.
  4. Run registry cleaning programs, such as CCleaner, but be careful as you should back up your registry in case you accidentally selected important components.