Programming

Greetings all!

What is the easiest programming language for a complete beginner who know nothing more than basic DOS and batch commands?
I guess there’ll be different answers for this question, but I’ll take a look at all suggestions.
Also, please include links to tutorials if you know any good ones for beginners.

Cheers,
Ragwing

what do u want to do with the programming language?

its like horses for courses…

Melih

To start with, I’d like to be able to create a GUI with buttons, that when pressed, will do different things such as launching an application, performing series of commands (like copying files, editing the registry) or make a pop-up window appear (such as when cliking ‘About’ in CFP 3).
But I’d also like to be able to make simple text-based games. Nothing with advanced graphics, just something simple.

And maybe one day I can work at Comodo as a professional programmer. (:WIN)

Cheers,
Ragwing

Java. At least that’s what I was taught in college. Be prepared to bloat your PC up first (:LGH).

Exactly what I thought after I read your first sentence. :slight_smile:

At least it’s better than .NET, from the bloat perspective. 88)

LA

Depending on his programming program of choice, he may need .NET :o

ok, if you want a good foundation in programming as well, then I would recommend C++ followed by MFC.
C++ will give you a good foundation but wont do pretty things so very easily. thats where you bring MFC in to help you create pretty stuff very quickly still based on c++. (dont try to jump into MFC without C++ foundation first).

Melih

I can understand recommending C++ (my first language, still my true love… Oh how I wish it was used more in the financial sector! :cry: ), but MFC??

From a news item I just read today:

[b]Microsoft has kicked off a research project to create software that will take over when it retires Windows.
Called Midori, the cut-down operating system is radically different to Microsoft’s older programs.