problems with CPF and Teamspeak

Hi all,
Firstly I am new to CPF and installed it 2 days ago, I would like to say so far I have been very impressed after having used several well known firewalls with my network (:KWL)
After reading through the help files and your forums, I managed to sort a problem out that I had with AVG.
I now have a problem that I cannot seem to solve, but perhaps with your help you could point me in the right direction, I am possibly overlooking something

I run teamspeak server and Teamspeak client and Fshost.
when I first opened up these programs after installing CPF, they were recognised and I allowed them.
However, I have had serveral e-mails and forum posts on my forum, that people cannot connect to the server, despite me allowing it.
I have tried changing the rule, and still no joy…they cannot connect.
Can anyone help please?

Cheers
Julie

Did you try following one of the port-forwarding FAQs? Check this one, you’ll just have to change the UDP/TCP port, I guess: https://forums.comodo.com/index.php/topic,1544.0.html

Thanks for the quick reply :slight_smile:
I appreciate your help and will check that out

Cheers
Julie

Hi Julie,

For CPF, if you want to allow incoming connections, allowing applications will not be enough. You must also define Network control rules necessary so that packets will be passed to the application listening.

Once you get accustomed with the operations, it is quite straightforward to configure CPF network rules.

I recommend setting “Create an alert when this rule is fired” option for the last rule(i.e. BLOCK IP IN FROM ANY TO ANY…) so that Logs setion will clearly show what is being blocked.

And also make sure if you create a network control rule, it should be above the BLOCK rule.

Let us see the Logs and your network control rules if you have difficulties with configuration. Then we can move the olution to our FAQ.

Thx,
Egemen

Hi Egemen
Many thanks for your response and help logging is now turned on.