Predefined Policy vs. Customer policy (FW/D+) - advice for total beginner

Can I have some advice or explanation when is it best to apply a Predefined Policy vs a custom policy? I understand the differences and rules resultant, but I have difficulty accessing the risks, if any (see: questions 1 - 6)?

Firwall: choices
a. Outgoing Only
b. Trusted Applications
c. Custom > Allow this Request/Remember my answer

D+: choices
a. Windows Installer Applications
b. Trusted Application
c. Custom > Allow this Request/Remember my answer

Q1 (FW). When I have an FW Alarm for a new application I install, should I go with Outgoing Only or Custom and (Custom will allow connection on 1 given port when Outgoing Only will allow communication on every port). What type of applications could benefit Outgoing Only vs. Custom?

Q2 (FW). Trusted Applications: This should be the choice for application needing Inbound communications - like utorrent? What other applications can benefit the status of Trusted Applications and still be regarded as a safe practice?

Q3 (D+). What is the difference between Windows Installer Applications and Setting D+ in training mode before installing an new application or updating?

Q4 (D+) In what case would I rather use Windows Installer Applications than custom (what applications, what circumstances)?

Q5a. Alarms (FW/D+): when I do not answer an Alarm the CSI default answer is DENY permission - do not remember my answer, is it correct?

Q5b Alarms (FW/D+). I can set the time to keep alarms on screen. Will the countdown reset to Zero every time I click a tab on the Alarm or change a selection without confirming?

Q6. Is it customary to modify your Network Configuration Policy rules and Computer Configuration Policy rules after you have made a selection during an Alarm (like reverting from Windows Installer to a more restrictive policy)? I am starting to accumulate rules but I am not always sure if I should change them or leave them as they are.