Port 21 for FTP Server only

Hi, im new to Comodo and (L)

But I dont understand the settings at all. For example: When I allow TCP/UDP in application monitor for my FTP server (In/Out at ANY port) why is still every body blocked and why do I have to make an rule in Networ monitor to allow port 21 for incoming TCP?
I just cant understand the difference between Aplication and Network monitor. In former firewall I just allowed the application a wanted.
And another question: Is there a way to allow communication on port 21 only for the FTP server application (Cerberus FTP)? When I create rule allowing port 21 in Network monitor and FTP server is not running i still have granted acces from the LAN to my computer on this port a I dont want to.

Sorry for my english, im not a native speaker… 88)

You should make a network monitor rule to allow inbound on port 21 for your FTP server.

CFP will only open a port IF there is an application that uses that port running. If your shut the FTP server down, the firewall will not allow inbound traffic on 21 as there is no application to receive the data. This is how the application and network monnitors work together.

Ewen :slight_smile:

Hi panic,
thanks for reply. But I still have a question. I have for example Gmail notifier installed on my computer. I allowed TCP/UDP OUT for this in Application monitor. The Connection window (under Activity) shows me gnotify.exe TCP IN/OUT with source MY IP:1678 and destination XXX:80 and transfered bytes IN and OUT. But I have no rule in Network monitor, that allows TCP IN on port 1678 or 80 (dont know which port is used for incomming data). So how can the notifier communicate without the rule and why FTP server cannot?

G’day,

gmail is a web based service and uses http to talk to port 80 on the remote server. Your PC is initiating contact with the gmail server and it is using the same network monitor rule that your browsers gets out with.