paid versus free?

hello, and thanks for your time. i am very new to all this and have recently had some promlems with trojan/virus detection. i use mcafee security but have recently tried some freeware which has been,imho, far better at detection.my point is this.i was thinking of uninstalling mcafee althogether and just going with freeware instead but as i am a tech dunce (hence the name)i could really do with an informed opinion on this.i have downloaded AVGfree antivirus,a-squared anti trojan,cyber hawk,spybot search & destroy and ccleaner. i was also thinking of downloading comodo firewall and just using these progammes for protection, i do not mean to come across as mean but i have very little money as i am a home carer, and i get by on a pittance for this, but even if i had lots to spend on security the macafee system i use seems to detect nothing, whats your opinion on this, will i be protected properly with the above mentioned programmes? thanks for listening and hope you can help, tech dunce.

Avg free : NOPE

CCleaner : YES

MCafee : HELL NO…

I heard that spybot is good. Never used it though. Try using Comodo firewall and you tell me whether it’s good or bad :slight_smile: . BDW There are so many good free products that gives you good protection. But people always go for “big” names and they start realizing that it’s not as good as they say it is. start with these products and guess where we end up to discuss. he he…

These are what I use

Comode FW
CAVS (beta)
ccleaner

What I 've used (Norton, Mcafee, ZA, Panda, Kaspersky, Avast)

I use Comodo Firewall Pro, CAVS 2 Beta, CCleaner, Spybot S & D, and Ad-Aware SE.

Hopefully as time moves on and CAVS 2 has further improved detection I will use Spybot less and less.