OPEN PORTS?HELP [Resolved]

Hi everyone,(:WAV)

I have recently did a basic test at pcflank and it showed that i had open ports?(135,139)

Is this normal?

I would be grateful if anyone could help me?

Please keep answers simple as i am a novice.

Many Thanks :■■■■

Sorry forgot to say that i have comodo firewall pro.

Hey, Novieiam ~

Is your computer behind a router, a cable or satellite modem (or other modem that may have routing and/or NAT) capabilities?

If so, this is what is being scanned by pcflank.

LM

Many thanks for the speedy response LM, (:WIN)

Not to sure about the above, i have a dell pc on a broadband internet connection.

I will try and find out.

Many thnx Novie :■■■■

A lot of broadband/cable modems have a builtin router/routing capabilities, and/or NAT (network address translation); in either event, what happens is that it “stops” traffic at the outside, and then reroutes it through to computers on the inside. The outside world sees one IP address (say, 123.456.78.90) while on the inside your computer has an address like 192.168.0.1

You can look up your modem on the web (or look in the manual if you got one, or on your ISP’s support docs page), and see if it does something like this. Chances are, it does. That being the case, you’re scanning that, not your computer & firewall.

LM

Tnx for the PM, Novieiam ~

Have you been able to confirm whether your cable modem has a built-in router or NAT function?

LM

Yes Lm,

The connection is through a modem!

Thanks for the help.

Novieiam :BNC

Okay, that’s one down… :wink:

The next question is, what make/model is the modem?

LM

Hi LM, (:WAV)

Right firstly i havent been here for a few days, so appologies.

Secondly i made a mistake last time, ooops (thats why i am a novice)lol.My connection is through a router!Inventel v5.08…

Does this help?

Many thanks,

( the annoyance that i am)Novieiam :■■■■

Well, that does help a bit, novieiam. Changes things, certainly.