On Driver install - Say driver install, not registry modification!

As shown in this thread:
https://forums.comodo.com/empty-t43832.0.html;new;topicseen#new
It’s not at all obvious that a protected registry entry
HKLM\SYSTEM\ControlSet???\Services\Kprocesshacker
is the same as a Driver install to even power users or some IT people. I hope that in the future D+ can specifically warn on a Kernel or other Driver install as a driver install so it’s clearer what exactly a program is trying to do.

I think that in any case where it’s possible, Comodo should try and use less technical terms with full details availble if requested by the user in a tab of the pop up or some such.

I’m a professional IT Sysadmin, I’ve read the Windows Internals 4th ed etc, and I just learned from that thread that a Registry entry like above denotes a driver install.

i couldn’t agree more wholeheartedly with this request. i currently use process hacker, but what’s more, i personally experienced a situation in which distinguishing between registry protection and driver installation would be very helpful! see this thread here:

https://forums.comodo.com/defense_help/defense_fails_to_stop_driver_loading-t43955.0.html

i also think relying on registry protection, protection of certain file/folder directories, and other filters to prevent driver installation may also result in more popups and potentially less protection overall than a single, solid driver protection filter:

https://forums.comodo.com/leak_testingattacksvulnerability_research/defence_failed_against_malware-t19073.0.html

i think in general, relying on registry protection to protect against drivers and rootkits is more difficult. let’s take a look at specific examples:

HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet*
HKLM\SYSTEM\ControlSetXXX*