OE: Message could not be sent. An error has occurred.

I’m new to Digital ID’s so here goes…

I’m using OE 6 on a Win XP Media Center Dell. Have received and installed my free certificate (thanks) but when I hit send (having clicked the Digital Sign icon) the computer waits a while and then issues this error message: “Outlook Express - The message could not be sent. An error has occurred.”

Sending messages without the ID work fine. I’ve checked and my email address is the same as on the certificate, and the certificate listed in the Store is marked OK.

Any advice? Thanks in advance.

I wanted to update my earlier post based on my reading of many of the other suggestions I found on these forums.

I’m running Win XP SP3 with all current updates. Also, I’m running Norton Internet Security and Spybot S&D. I went into NIS and saw that I was scanning both incoming and outgoing emails. In the hopes that this was the problem, I turned off these scans. Unfortunately, no change to the issue—I get the same error message when trying to digitally sign and send an email.

Any thoughts on what I might try next? Thanks. ???

Hi,

Have you checked out the knowledgebase on email certificates?

you can find it here:

Garry

Dear SSL Guru,

Thank you for your reply. Yes, I had read that section and tried all the ideas I thought were relevant. I have since taken a second look and tried them again. No luck, yet. Also, I Googled and Binged my problem and tried options others have suggested around deleting Sent Items, Deleted Items folders and cleaning out my Inbox, turn off virus scan and firewall, etc. Same outcome.