nVidia dll's fail to load at boot (3.0.16.295 x32)

After updating from the previous version to 3.0.16.295 and then rebooting, I got 3 separate Windows pop-up dialogs telling me that my nvcpl.dll, nvmctray.dll and nvsvc.dll’s all failed to load. Never had this issue before the update to -295. After hours of research, tweaking Defense+ settings and rebootings, the only solution that fixed the problem was to “Permanently disable” Defense+.

Don’t know if this is related at all but also when I clicked Scan My System in the Defense+ tasks, absolutely nothing would happen.

HP Pavillion dv9429
AMD 64 x2
Vista 32 (I’m an Administrator)
nVidia 6150
AVG Free antivirus

Hmm…I’m having the same problem as well. I hope there is a solution soon…

Hi!

This might do it:
In Defense+ → Advanced → Computer Security Policy, locate or add rundll32.exe and set it to ‘Windows System Application’.

Rundll32.exe is (in XP) located in x:\Windows\system32.

At least that solve the problem for me, but I have XP.

Greetings from Sweden (:WAV).

I was having the same problem and all I had to do was uncheck “Block all unknown requests if the application is closed”.

This is under Defense+>Advanced>Defense+ Settings>General Settings tab then look at the bottom. This was enabled by default on this release to help tighten up basic security a little. I don’t think it was checked on previous versions by default.

EDIT: I think I also unchecked “Block fragmented IP packets”. This is under Firewall>Advanced>Attack Detection Settings>Miscellaneous tab then right at the top of the window.

This stopped it for me.

jasper

@jasper

That’s funny, co’s I’ve both of them checked. However, rundll32 do some other things in some other situations too, but I’ve forget wich :slight_smile:

Well, well, a man can do things in many ways…

Next one… :slight_smile:

I was having a problem with rundll32.exe loading sispower.dll on boot so I added it in Run an executable for Rundll32.exe.