Nslookup from the WAN to see all my DNS infraestructure

Hello,

I have been a follower of your company for a year or so now. I think it is a great product (CIS) though I am not an expert in security stuff. But I love your products and these forums.

Well, I have a question not related to Comodo, and I think this is the right place to ask it:

Not long ago I read that anyone from the WAN could, with NSLookup, see all your DNS infrastructure even the “A, Cname…” .

I then read about Split-DNS, but I don´t want to publish any DNS Server on the internet.

I thought my network was secure this way:

Two DNS with Active Directory integrated, and then, on the WAN I have the name of my domain and some hots: mydomain.com , www.mydomain.com , ftps.mydomain.com , mail.mydomain.com.
These hosts are placed in the company I bought my domain to, and all point to my Public IP.

I quite don´t understand why I have to have two DNS infrastructures in my domain so that no one from the outside (the WAN) can see my DNS internal hosts with nslookup.

Besides I have a firewall with all the updates, a corporated antivrus, and I am even thinking of Snort to stop attacks in my infrastructure. (Should I remove the word of that product “Snort”?, no publicity allowed?)

Thanks a lot in advance.

No problem using names of other vendors here, there is this board for :wink:

It depends on your setup, normally if you decide to host your own DNS servers you have a few options.

1. Run ‘Internet’ DNS servers which contain only information in their zone files that need to be known to the ‘Internet’.
  2. Run a DNS server with an External ‘View’ and an Internal ‘View’.

The first is the most secure, you only put names in there that need to be known on the internet, what isn’t in there can’t leak or can’t be enumerated.
You prevent the ~ user/ip from being allowed to zone-transfer (e.g. download your complete DNS zone file info).