NOD32 (EAV 4) and protocol filtering (local proxy). Is it a problem?

I know this topic has already been treated for example here
https://forums.comodo.com/help-for-v3/nod32-proxy-issue-t17504.0.html

I am not a computer expert, so please excuse me if I am not technically correct in my question

The fact is that NOD32 EAV 4.27.67.10 uses ekrn.exe as a proxy “to check the data transmitted via the HTTP and POP3 protocols
So if I set in NOD32 settings my Internet Explorer as a “Web Browser” all the traffic passes thru ekrn.exe

The first question is: What does it change for me? Do you mean that I was in this situation

Internet Explorer <–> [COMODO FW + “COMODO Web Browser policy”] <–> Outside

and now I am in this one?

Internet Explorer <–> ekrn.exe <–> [COMODO FW + ekrn “policy”] <–> Outside

If this is right, do you mean that in the latter case COMODO FW doesn’t use anymore (when IE is trying to connect to some site) the “IE Browser rules” but uses “ekrn rules”?
Do firewall rules (policies) apply only when an application tries to go outside my PC and don’t apply between an application and the proxy? (in this case between IE and ekrn.exe)

The second question is: Can the problem be solved setting appropriate rules for the proxy (=ekrn.exe) and do someone have the firewall rules/policy I should set for ekrn.exe?
Setting for ekrn.exe the “Web Browser policy” doesn’t seem the solution for me.

I know I can disable this protocol filtering (and in fact is what I did) but I am always sorry when I disable something that should protect me more

Thanks in advance :-TU

Maybe this is the most correct explanation (taken from wilderssecurity)