New User

I am new to Comodo. I had been using ZoneAlarm Free your years. I really did not like how bloated it became over the years. I then heard Steve Gibson say that ZA might be “phoning” home and sending packets to their servers. He no longer recommended it.

I tried Sunbelt, but it was too complicated for me. I looked at reviews of other free firewalls and Comodo 3.0 was recommended by PC mag even though it failed the leak test. I thought I would try it. I was intimidated at first, had trouble finding the program control. I like to control what programs access the internet. I like that it tells me if the program is safe.

I did ■■■■■ up the setup the first time. I selected firewall only. It confused me since the Defense+ was in the summary. I right-click on systray icon and selected Safe PC mode. I reboot and it was disabled. I then uninstall and reinstalled. I chose the middle option this time - proactive, I think. I chose NOT to install the AV since I am already using an AV program. I also chose NOT to install some toolbar. There were 3 checkmarks, I unchecked them. So far everything seems fine. Shields Up reports that my ports are stealth.

There are a couple of things that you sould know. 1) The scan during the install said that I had 2 files infected. I knew this wasn’t true. I sent the files to VirusTotal.com and Comodo was the only one that reported a problem. If you want the name of the files and the virus, let me know. 2) You have to disable the Windows XP firewall manually.

I am confused with the product names Comodo Firewall, Comodo Memory Firewall, Comodo Internet Security, and Comodo Internet Security Pro. Which version am I running, which is free, and what are the differences?