new to the program :)

Hey all I’m brand new to CAVS and have been reading on here for a good week now just trying to educate myself about virus scanners and firewalls. The only thing people seem to agree on throughout the forums is that I need one or both.

About two days ago I switched from AVG Free in an effort to find the best virus scanner out there, this seems to be it. What’s the difference between the On Access and On Demand scanners?

I was going to ask a question about spyware but it seems those definitions get better and better each day :slight_smile:

I was also going to beg someone for the release dates for 2.0 (I think that’s it) but that wish seems to have been answered this morning to.

My last question is about real time spyware detection. I had been using Spyware Guard but after reading through here found out that something conflicted with something else. In response to that, I downloaded Spyware Terminator 1.5.0.718 to replace Spyware Guard. That seems to have a real time scanner in it. However, it also has Clam Anti Virus in it. I read somewhere that one shouldn’t have two anti virus scanners in place, especially since Clam ANtiVirus seems to protect real time like CAVS.

Should I uninstall the Clam AV portion of Spyware Terminator? Is there a better real time spyware prevention tool similar to Spyware Guard.

I also use Spybot S&D but their Tea Timer tool doesn’t want to work right on my machine (only half the window pops up) so I disabled it. Along with Spybot I use Ad-Aware Personal and Zone Alarm free on my computer (soon to be the comodo firewall as soon as I get a minute :slight_smile: )

Thanks for all your help in advance! I look forward to becoming a bigger part of this place as I learn more.

Dave

Hi and welcome,

On demand is where you start the scan On access is the automatic scanning of files opened, etc.

It is never a good idea to have more than one AV as the following may happen:

1. AV1 detect a file opened and scans;