Need help understanding D+

Hey

I’m new to Comodo’s Defense+ so naturally I have some questions to fully understand how to use this program effectively. To give you an idea where I’m coming from, I’ve been using Online Armour before deciding to try Comodo so I have some basic HIPS knowledge.

1. In D+, how can I completely block/disable/untrust (whatever you want to call it) certain programs? I want certain programs blocked from starting/starting or ending other programs (physically and remotely), from doing anything advanced like installing global hooks/accessing physical memory/installing drivers, etc.,etc… Basically I want to block certain programs from doing ANYTHING. I guess the first step would be to give the selected programs the “Isolated Application” predefined policy, but then what next (since the program can still run)?

2. When editing policies, what exactly is “Protection Settings”? Is it options to protect the selected application(s) from what other processes can do to it? Example, if I activate “Process Terminations” for 34.exe, does that mean 34.exe is protected from other programs trying to terminate 34.exe? If so, what general processes should I activate these protections?

3. Lastly, once I get D+ set up to my likeness, where can I test it to make sure it is providing maximum protection. For example, to test your firewall you would run GRC’s Shield UP.

TIA

Hey ProActiv! Welcome to the forums. I will try to help you as best as I can… How ever I don;t have CIS installed at the moment.

1. Comodo → Defense+ → My Computer Security Policy. You should be able to add custom rules manually there. Or, Run the application and you should get pop-up windows and you can do it from there. Which is easier in my opinion. As for starting up… Comodo should alert you if an application tries to add it self into the start-up list. If this program already has before installing CIS… you can do this;
    Start → run → msconfig