My only global firewall rule

First of all, I’m a complete novice when it comes to networks and firewalls. I’m more into local system activity.

Now, my PC is not in a home network, it’s just connected to the Internet. No hardware firewall, no router. Simple as that. Long ago (in CFP 3.0 I guess) it seemed like someone/something tried to connect to my machine. Despite the default Comodo rules I got some alerts of incoming connection attempts once in a while. Thus I got help at this forum to create a global firewall rule. It’s simply “Block IP In From IP Any to IP Any Where Protocol Is Any” and I’m still using it, after every reinstallation of CIS (for whatever reason) I delete the default global rules and add my own rule.

Although I’m a firewall novice this rule appears to me as it would block just about every kind of connection coming in to my PC. So, can anyone explain - very simply please :slight_smile: - how is it possible that I can actually surf, use DC++, and use Spotify without any connection problems whatsoever?

Thank you.

Unsolicited - Traffic you didn’t ask for.
Solicited - Traffic you asked for.

There is nothing wrong with that rule, it will basically any block any inbound unsolicited connection attempts that an application hasn’t grabbed. This is something that router users don’t often need to worry about, because most routers do that by default. Now, this works because applications often open up ports to listen on for inbound connections attempts and this circumvents the global block rule because the port is already open (which is what you want). Sometimes, application dependent, you need to create special application rules to handle the inbound traffic & force a port open, but it is rarer these days I think. Another way, I suspect, for traffic to circumvent the global block rule is to use something like UPnP or port mapping, where all the inbound connections are, in effect, solicited (already established).