Multiple Policies for One Application - Is Something Wrong?

Hi,

Forewarning: I’m still new to Comodo. :slight_smile:

I added a few of my own file groups and assigned some executables to each. I then removed the existing policy entries for the executables I added to these groups and added new policies for the groups. But whenever something happens to one of these files to warrant customization (e.g. so far always when adding an allowed Run Executable entry), Comodo adds a duplicate policy entry for that file with the newly learned access right(s) applied. So in other words I now have two entries for some of these files: one entry as a group, the other as an individual file.

What is Comodo doing? Does it apply the securest combination of the two policies, as I suspect/hope? Or is it confused and causing problems down the road?

More info: I made three file groups: one for ESET NOD32 Antivirus files, one for PC Tools Spyware Doctor files and a third for TuneUp Utilities files. The first two groups are given a custom policy I call Trusted & Protected Application (essentially Trusted + the same protection settings as Comodo files are given by default) and the TuneUp policy is set to Trusted Application. Comodo added several duplicate entries for some of these files (PTSD and TUU files, not NOD yet) and gave them Custom policy settings that include some files they are allowed to execute without asking.

Thanks.

Yep, I can confirm that. I won’t consider it a bug, maybe it’s just not enough documented.

It’s only normal that policies for individual applications within a group cannot be changed by an “Allow an remember” action – therefore a second “custom” rule appears.
Workaround is to keep only one – depending on how often you’re using or what are your priorities – removing the temporary, and/or to define “custom group” policy rules
It is however tricky to remember all your rules.

Hi gaby,