MS XP firewall enough? [merged threads]

Hello everyone! First time poster here.

I’m a computer novice who was interested in making sure my computer is secure. (My Zone Alarm Security Suite’s subscription recently expired.) I was told by a a local computer technician who is knowledgeable in these matters that my Windows Firewall is sufficient enough for my computer, but like anybody, I want a highly secured internet experience, and I heard good things about Comodo’s free firewall (although I’ve been warned about bugs with their latest version, and I’m seeing my warnings are warranted by reading some of the posts in this forum). My question is…since I really don’t want the headaches that some here are experiencing with Comodo, (and I do mean some, not all of you), would I be OK with just sticking with the protection provided by my Windows Firewall? In addition, after reading some of the rather technical questions/answers,etc. posted here, I’m not so sure that I would fully understand the complexities involved with operating such a robust firewall as Comodo. (Or perhaps operating the Comodo firewall isn’t as complicated as I’m making it out to be?) Is the Windows Firewall so far inferior that I should drop that right away and make the move over to Comodo? Or lastly, maybe I should just go with the free security suite that is being offered to me as a part of my internet service by my cable operator…the security software is provided by F-Secure (my cable providers claim that F-Secure is very good!)
Whew!! Sorry about the long post. Any tips/thoughs/suggestions? Thank you!

no its not enough.

you need CFP v3 and CMF v2 as your first line of defense online!
you can read about background info in my blog here www.melih.com (there are few articles about basic description of firewall, prevention vs detection etc)

thanks
Melih

Hi there Bunkman (:WAV)