Internet Connection Sharing Problems

Hi,

I’m having problems setting up Internet Connection Sharing while using Comodo free firewall. I’ve created a trusted zone on the PC (host) that connects directly to the internet for the Local Area connection which the 2nd PC will connect to to access the internet. But I still can’t connect to the internet.

I was going to try and set it up manually but I have a quick question - When adding a ‘network control rule’ is the “Source IP” the IP address of the host PC or the IP address of the 2nd PC?

And I’m guessing that if the Source IP is the Host PC details then the Destination IP will be the details of the 2nd PC?

Sorry for the basic questions but I’m new to networking.

I would appreciate any help on this issue or on how to successfully setup Comodo firewall to use Internet Connection Sharing so I can connect a 2nd PC/Playstation 2 to the internet.

Thanks.

Hi Yorkyuk,

The problem is your firewall prevents your 2nd PC to obtain an IP, i think the firewall is being too pedantic. i have tried all suggested methods and didn’t work so i tried the below crude method and it worked.

1. On your Comodo Firewall pro Control Panel at the bottom of left of this screen you have “Computer Security Level”, move the dial from “Custom” to “Allow All”.

2. Now go back to your 2nd PC open a DOS Window by Clicking on Start button, select run then type “CMD” in the “open” field.

3. On your DOS command line type “IPCONFIG /renew”, there would be short delay then your 2nd PC would get a new internal IP. If process is success and your 2nd PC is connected to the internet. Return back to Comodo Control panel and move dial back to “Custom” or whereever it was to start with.

If the above fails then consider assigning a local IP to your 2nd PC.

Good Luck

Acton140

Thanks for the advice Acton140,

Just a few questions:-

How would I go about assigning a local IP to a 2nd PC (Laptop)?

&