Installing & Configuring together Comodo and Avast

Hi. Hope to get some guidance with this topic. Apologies if been covered before - did a search and couldn’t find anything on it.

Basically, I’ve currently got ZAPro firewall and Kaspersky anti-virus softwares on my pc. Not workingv well, and had a few probs with them both - stopping internet connection, blocking certain programs working, and a few things like that - oh, and they’re both expensive!

So have decided to change (and to save some money) by using free versions of Comodo Home v.3 free & Avast Home Edition v. 4.8 anti-virus (also free version). Have heard good things about both.

I am new to both programs and could do with some guidance on installing & configuring them:

1 - Which do I install first - Comodo or Avast?

2 - How do I configure them so they work well together?

(I have full uninstaller programs for both ZAPro & Kaspersky progs, downloaded from their forum sites.)

Any instructions and advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Hi and welcome to the forums,

Both work fine together! There’s isn’t any special that needs setting, just click Allow any Defense+ & Firewall Alerts in Comodo.

I’ve used it along with Comodo BoClean and other products without any hitches.

Installing CPF 3 With Defense+ is relatively simple. Simply follow the instructions. We do recommend you install CPF 3 with Defense+ as it fully protects your pc whereas if you install it simply as the firewall alone you’ll have anti-leak protection and that’s about it. The Defense+ element of CPF 3 has a unique “Clean PC Mode” which will treat any new executable as suspicious. It’s a VERY powerful H.I.P.S.

You have the option to install Comodo Toolbar when you run the installer. The toolbar is currently an “ASK TOOLBAR” with the Comodo Search Built in and Comodo SafeSurf which is a Buffer Overflow Protection product.