Install Problems CIS 3.12.111745.560 Win XP

Hi. I have been recommending and putting CIS on people’s computers for a couple of years now, and I have never had an install problem before this. I have a Dell Dimension 4700 PIV Win XP Home SP3 512MB RAM which I just finished cleaning (viruses). I have confirmed with MBAM, SAS, GMER, NIS, & then F-Secure online scan and Windows OneCare online scan - this 'puter is squeaky clean. But everytime I try to install CIS, it goes through the installation, says successfully installed and I need to reboot. So I try to reboot and it gets to the XP splashscreen and never gets any further. So I boot to last known good configuration, find the Comodo desktop icon, click on it, and it says run diagnostic - so I do, and it gives me an option to “fix”. I fix, then it tells me I need to reboot. When I reboot, it goes to the XP splashscreen forever and never boots up. BAck to last know good configuration and uninstall CIS…

I have tried this several times. I have run Ccleaner, NIS Removal Tool. I close the other security programs on the computer when I do the install (MBAM, SAS and Spyware Doctor). The only thing I can think of is maybe the online scanners’ activx controls that are still on the system are affecting the install? I can’t think of anything else. I would really appreciate some help! Thanks.

UPDATE: So I installed V 3.0 successfully, and when I try to update, I get an error “Error 113: Update could not be completed. Seems Internet connection lost halfway during update download. Please check your Internet connection and retry.” Of course, I have not lost the internet connection - no idea why this will not update!

have you tried the newest version?

YES! The first install I had the problems with was the latest version. Attempted 3 times with the latest version! It was not until I tried the v3.0 that I could get an install, but then it wouldn’t update.