I'm Not A Computer Expert -- Will CIS Work For Me?

I’ve been thinking of trying CIS for a while, but so far haven’t convinced myself to. I like the fact that it’s free, and I really appreciate the fact that Melih is generous enough to even offer keys to CIS Complete for free. You just can’t beat that kind of generosity!

The thing that’s been keeping me from giving it a shot is this – I’m not a computer expert by a long shot. I’ve been running NIS 2010 for a few months, and it just seems to work. It never so much as makes a peep. I’m not necessarily wild about Symantec, but I can’t complain about the results I’ve gotten from NIS. I’ve heard, on the other hand, that CIS produces a large amount of pop-ups – many of which might be confusing to someone like me whose computer knowledge is average at best. I’d hate to fall into the trap of just getting used to clicking “allow,” and then do it once too often and wind up regretting it.

So, I guess my question is, for someone like me, is CIS something I should try, or should I stick with something like NIS?

Thanks in advance for your input!

I think you will get a lot of one-sided answers here. I have used both a lot, as they are probably my two favorite programs. I have tested both on 4-5 different machines. I think Norton is much more user friendly, and will provide a lot less pop-ups while offering a similar level of protection. Just my 2 cents. Comodo is nice, but you will get a lot more pop-ups on every day, safe programs compared to Norton.

Here you can get an idea of programs, drivers, etc that may cause popups in Comodo:

https://forums.comodo.com/news-announcements-feedback-cis/comodo-internet-security-4-and-application-incompatibility-problems-reporting-t52466.0.html

and

https://forums.comodo.com/news-announcements-feedback-cis/submit-applications-you-want-to-be-made-trusted-here-t46391.0.html

there are only few popup if the comodo sandbox is active.
I think CIS with default setting is very suitable for you.