I downloaded the free AV program 2x and both times I got premium versions

I’ve been using Comodo for several years now. I have installed Comodo on friends and family’s computers (those who understand how to monitor their own computer programs) and sometimes I install Avast for them if they don’t have computer knowledge about what to allow and what not to allow. Also, I loved Comodo FW because every website I went to that tested the security of my computer to probing websites showed my connection always as in a ‘stealth mode’. I appreciated the ability to not open my computer to harmful sites. I have never received a virus or key logger using Comodo. I got a key logger using Avast (prior to switching to Comodo) and experienced a hack into one of my online MMO sites.

This is the 3rd big Comodo face lift I’ve noticed since that original red and white interface. I don’t mind relearning where all the settings are located after the new program releases as all programs have GUI changes from time to time. However, I have always used the free AV and FW and didn’t want the premium version but got it anyway and now it won’t update. The internal diag says its running fine but it won’t update after the install. I uninstalled my previous version because it would attempt to get a program update every log on and the update it was attempting to pull down was ver 5x and I noticed my ver was 3x.

Has the free AV gone away? I was very careful to download the “free” AV. I attempted to download the free product twice and got the same file both times. The file name is “cav_installer” is there a different file I need to download? Is there a different ‘free products’ page?

Also, I’m going to give the Comodo Dragon (OS) a try and see if it can improve page loads. I am not a fan of IE9 as it doesn’t play videos as well as I expected so rather than update to IE9 I am going to use Dragon for a bit and see if maybe I want to switch for good.