How to get people to enable signed/encrypted email???

I’m new to using s/mime for email. Only just recently acquired my first s/mime certificate. (Thank you Comodo!) My problem is that apart from some Linux mailing lists contacts, I don’t know anybody willing to bother installing either an s/mime cert, nor an pgp key so that they can sign/verify and/or encrypt/decrypt their email.

Some time ago I tried to convince some extended family members that they should get pgp for that. The ones that didn’t just think I was being paranoid, don’t do email at all…

I’d like to try again. But they all know I find Linux easier to deal with than Windows. So when I try to tell them that getting my free Comodo s/mime certificate was painlessly easy. And that it’s not very hard to install such an s/mime certificate to an email client. Or that once that’s done it’s as easy to use as it is to attach a photo… Well lets just say I expect them to roll their eyes. and pretend to “humor” me with remarks like “maybe someday”… Yeah right! :sigh:

But since they won’t bother to get neither an s/mime certificate nor an pgp key, the closest I can come to sending an secure message about my sister’s health to my niece who lives on the other side of the country is probably to put it in a so-called “private” Facebook message. Of course she probably has Facebook configured to send her a copy via a non-secure email notification…

And the local businesses I deal with are no better. Either they don’t do email, Or if they do, it’s insecure. Unless they use a web feedback form for that.

So like the Subject says: How can I convince people to get either an s/mime certificate or an pgp key so I can safely send them email with sensitive, or private information???

JtWdyP

How can I convince people to get either an s/mime certificate or an pgp key so I can safely send them email with sensitive, or private information???