How to backup CPF Rules and Settings? [Resolved]

Hi,

I’m new to CPF.

Could anyone tell me which files or registry entries I need to backup in case my PC crashes or I need to install CPF on another PC?

Hi and welcome. I believe what you want is here…

https://forums.comodo.com/index.php/topic,2366.0.html

Cheers,

Paul

Thanks, Paul.

However, I don’t how to use the scripts mentioned in the forum topic.

Could you please tell me where in the registry (or files) the Rules and CPF settings are kept so that I can manually export them to a .reg file (or copy the files)?

Hi again, Is this what you mean?

https://forums.comodo.com/index.php/topic,56.0.html

Paul

I beleive what you are looking for is located at…

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\Software\Comodo\Personal Firewall

[EDIT] doh! Paul, you beat me by seconds i think :THNK

Thanks Paul and m0ng0d. This is exactly what I’m looking for. Hope a future version will have ‘Backup’ to file and ‘Restore’ from file features. In the meantime, the .reg file will do fine.

BTW, m0ng0d, I read your excellent and easy to understand tutorial on how to add Network Rules. Any more tutorials in this Forum from you?

Glad you enjoyed it Charlie. To date, that is the only How To that I have written here. I had challenges myself with understanding Network rules (and their place) when I first started using CPF; so writing about them helped solidify the subject in my mind.

The very next CPF feature/function to make me scratch me head will get a How To by me as well (:WIN)

You are more than welcome Charlie. :wink:

MG, since I did beat you to it, do I get First thanks or second thanks? Or can I donate the first thank you to you since you are dealing with the tutorial? If you want First thanks, i’ll e-mail it to you or perhaps swap thanks over P2P… :smiley:

Paul

I’m still buzzing from the glowing article review… so you can keep your Thanks, and in fact I’ll raise you an at-a-boy 'cause I’m in such a good mood (:CLP)