How do I tighten (make more restrictive) Aplication rules ?

I’m a NOOB with Comodo Firewall (ver. 2.1.1), although I have used other firewalls in the past (Kerio and Sygate).

I was reviewing my Application Control Rules, which were set up by the popups which I “Allowed” for each network application I have used. I was very surprised to see that every app. is given by default access to the full IP range (0.0.0.0 - 255.255.255.255) and full port accesss also (0-65535).

Here are some questions:

(1) Is there any way to make the DEFAULT settings more restrictive, so each application only has access to ports and IP addresses that are actually required or used ?

(2) Alternatively, I was thinking that I could use the Activity logs to capture the detailed information (IP address and ports) required to tighten up my rules. Does anyone have any advice on how to do this?

(3) Is there any relationship between these rather loose application rules and the fact that I have the following items default checked in Advanced Security Configuration:
Automatically approve safe applications?
Basic Popup logic?

(4) Finally, if anyone thinks my concerns are not valid, please explain.

Thanks.

You must disable the both options(Basic popup logic and Automatically approve safe applications) to make CPF not to create general alow all/block all rules.

Adter these changes, CPF will create limited rules when you answer popups. Then you need to go to application monitor and modify the created rules according to your filtering criteria.

Egemen

Hi, if you want to see a detailed report go to security>network monitor>right click #0 rule allow IP out> edit>tick creat an alert.>ok Hope this helps.

Thanks for the responses !

egemen: