How do I configure Comodo Firewall to block ICMP Echo?

I have just downloaded Comodo Firewall. I am totally new to this Firewall as I had previously used Sygate Firewall. I just completed a Firewall test with Shields Up and found this result:-

Ping Reply: RECEIVED (FAILED) — Your system REPLIED to our Ping (ICMP Echo) requests, making it visible on the Internet. Most personal firewalls can be configured to block, drop, and ignore such ping requests in order to better hide systems from hackers. This is highly recommended since “Ping” is among the oldest and most common methods used to locate systems prior to further exploitation.

How do I complete the above to make the test a success? How do I configure the Firewall so that it blocks the Ping (ICMP Echo)? Please make your explanations very simple for a newbie to this software (which I think is GREAT)

Thanks

Harry

Welcome to the forums, kerrso05 (:WAV)

First, I want to make sure you’re aware that if you are using a router, it’s the router that’s being tested by Shields Up! rather than CPF.

That said, you can create a block rule for ICMP very easily…

Go to Security/Network Monitor (or choose Network Monitor from the main CPF screen). Go to the default bottom rule (which is the Block & Log rule), which on default settings (meaning, it has not been changed) should be set for “Any” IP protocol, which should include ICMP. Right-click the rule, choose Add/Add Before. Your rule will be:

Block. ICMP. In. Source: Any. Destination: Any. Details: ICMP Echo Request.

Reboot your computer to set the rule.

If you still get the same message on GRC, well, you know it’s bogus. :wink:

Hope that helps.

LM

Little Mac

Happy Christmas and thank you very much for being so helpful. I would never have worked that out on my own but I like the program very much and intend to use instead of Sygate.
Thanks for explaining it so simply…especially for a newbie like me

Harry

No problem, Harry.