Home Network Issue [RESOLVED]

Hi All, I’m new to CPF and I have one issue I can’t seem to resolve. I have dial up (yea I know) and use a Ethernet hub to connect to my other computers on my network with WinXP on 2 computers and WinME on the 3rd. Everything works fine until I have to reboot my host computer, after reboot in order for my other 2 computers to connect I have to run the Network Setup Wizzard, then everything is fine again until I reboot. How can I resolve this issue?

Thanks in advance, James

Have you added your subnet as a trusted zone?

Do you know if it is CPF that is that is blocking? You can tell by selecting Allow all and then pinging one of your other machines. If that works, you just need to setup your subnet as a trusted zone.

If not, your problem is elsewhere. If you have to run the network wizard on your host, do you have to do the same on the other 2 machines? Does your host have a fixed IP or have you left it as dynamic?

Just a few things for you to test before anyone can give you a clear decisive answer.

James,

In addition to what Rucia has mentioned about creating a Zone to encompass your computers and setting that as Trusted in the Network Monitor, there is something else to add…

If you are using ICS (Internet Connection Sharing) from your host machine, you will need to create a network rule allowing IGMP (multicasting protocol) across that Trusted Zone/Network, as ICS apparently requires it (perhaps on Port 2…). Again as Rucia mentioned, the Logs in CPF will show what is being blocked, when, and how.

And yes, you will need to do the trusted zone on each of the computers that has CPF installed.

Hope that helps,

LM

PS: I wasn’t clear if you are using ICS, since you mentioned a “Host” machine, so I thought I’d bring that up…

Hey Thanks Rucia & Little Mac for the fast replies and sorry for the long delay for I had to go out of town.