Help with Dlink 320 Media Server [Resolved]

Hello

I am new to Comodo firewall and so far I am very pleased with it. Having one small problem though. I have a D-Link 320 RD media server which I use to stream media. My computer is set up with a Linksys wireless router and a local network is established. The D link sees the network just fine, However when I attempt to stream files Comodo blocks the traffic. I figure I simply need to establish a new rule to give permission for the Dlink to communicate, but I am really a novice at Firewalls and so far my attempts have failed miserably. Below is a copy of my log showing the block. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks

Date/Time :2007-05-08 17:02:32
Severity :Medium
Reporter :Network Monitor
Description: Inbound Policy Violation (Access Denied, IP = 192.168.1.100, Port = upnp-mcast(1900))
Protocol: UDP Incoming
Source: 192.168.1.100:58756
Destination: 239.255.255.250:upnp-mcast(1900)
Reason: Network Control Rule ID = 5

Jake

First to check if it’s a rule problem, turn off Network Monitor and see if it works or not. You might have to restart everything to get the changes to take hold.

Security>Network Monitor>Turn Off–at the top of the rules list window

If it works after doing the above then turn it back on and write the below rule for starters:

ALLOW–check the checkbox
UDP
IN
Source IP: 192.168.1.100
Destination IP: 239.255.255.250
Source Port: ANY–try this first then if it uses the same port everytime you can change it
Destination Port: 1900

If this rule doesn’t help then post your log so we can get a look at it.

VERY IMPORTANT: Also put the rule above all block rules in the rules list.

jasper

Thanks Jasper

Tried turning off Network Monitor and was able to access the media server with no probs. Then I implemented the rule you suggested—made it rule #5 right before the block rule. Unfortunately no luck. Here is a copy of the log [attached].