Gmail through Thunderbird

Hello–
I’m a noob who just installed Comodo Firewall. Everything seems to be going fine, except Thunderbird can no longer access my Gmail accounts. I get an error message that says it cannot get access to the SMTP server. Same thing with Outlook. Is there something special I need to do?

If you disable the firewall, does it work? Check the firewall events log to see if the apps are blocked. On the summary page under Network Defense it tells you how many intrusions have been blocked so far. Click on the number and it displays the log.

If Outlook and Thunderbird are listed, then you must modify the rule to allow smtp and POP traffic. There is a predefined rule (email client) available.

To modify rules: Under the Firewall tab, choose Advanced > Network Security Policy > Applications Rules.

You should be able to work it out from there, it is rather intuitive.

Hope this helps

Cheers

I have uninstalled the Firewall, and it still won’t work. In fact, I’m trying to uninstall Thunderbird so I can reinstall it and start over and now I can’t uninstall Thunderbird!!! I’ve tried the usual Control Panel Add/Remove app, as well as Glary Utilities. I can uninstall other programs, so that’s not the problem. Frankly, I’m a little stumped at this point. I think something must have gotten corrupted somewhere, and it is scaring me off of Firewall. I’ve got to figure out how to brute-force uninstall Thunderbird so I can get my email back, then I’ll get back to the Firewall issue. BTW, I can get on my email account with no problem through Gmail’s web service. I’ve also tried deleting my email account in TBird and setting it up again, but it says my password is invalid; hence, my decision to start from scratch. I know I’m drifting away from a Firewall discussion, but I’m a little flummoxed at this point, and I’d appreciate any thoughts you might have. Thanks!