FTP with Frontpage...

Hey guys;

I’m using frontpage 2003 (don’t complain please I’m not a HTML expert and this was the easiest program I found to learn without reading) and I just recently upgraded to Comodo’s firewall version 3.0.21.329 (the latest one I think) as before this I was running off of ver 2.4 and still had a few troubles with it… but I’m trying to FTP my site and it seems that I can’t, I keep running into issues as things would time out or even just hang and not do anything for the longest of times…

I’m hoping to get some help as I don’t want to get rid of either Frontpage or comodo… I tried setting up the FTP rules as it was said in another post but nothing seems to work…

Please help me guys…
Thanks;
Shane (the strong comodo supporter, even recommends it on his tools page: http://4einconline.com)

Do you get any block messages in the firewall log? Are you using the predefined FTP Client policy for Frontpage in Network Policy? What are your global rules? If you are using active FTP with Frontpage, you may need to add a rule to allow incoming tcp to port 20 to your global rules.

Any messages in the firewall log ?
it’s tough to say since I don’t know where the log is located

I have frontpage being treated as a FTP client…

I have a block all ICMP but I seen in one of your previous posts that I should add a TCP/in/any/any/20/any
in which I have already done so…
not sure what ya mean by if i’m using active FTP I’m usin the built in FTP wiht frontpage…

To find the firewall log, go to firewall/common tasks/view firewall events. There may be something blocked that will indicate the problem. If all you have is the block icmp in global rules, you don’t need to add anything. There are two forms of ftp, active and passive, that use different parts of the ftp client policy, but without global rules shouldn’t make any difference. What is your OS?