Free Commodo Firewall pro v3

I tried the new Firewall and foound that it was disastrous. I would have thought that the upgrade could have incorporated all the trusted sites from the previous version. No, full learning curve again.

The worst part was that it eventually locked me out and it did not recognise any of the programs on the drive.

I had to go into Safe Mode and do a system restore to before I installed the upgrade. After I restarted, everything was fine again.

You need to put a lot more work into this guys.

I feel this matter should be raised once more, as the same thing happened to me yesterday (though in safe mode I was able to simply uninstall the program rather than use system restore).

I’m no IT expert but I’m far from a casual computer user as well, so I know my way around a firewall. The software looks very impressive and has many great reviews and scores on various tests, but I really feel that the ease with which it can completely lock out an administrator from their computer is very worrying. It happened to me within five minutes of installation.

I let it learn my programs that should be granted access to the internet, and then I opened up one it didn’t recognise, a PS2 emulator I was running an experiment on. Why it needed to access the internet I don’t know, but I decided to select the option to have the program’s details sent to the company site for analysis. Then the alert disappeared, but the program wouldn’t load.

So I tried it again, only to be told that I did not have sufficient access privileges to open that file. Or any file. Or the control panel. On any account on the computer. Effectively, for clicking that option, I had been locked out, and no amount of reboots or fiddling or waiting would clear the problem. So I went into safemode and uninstalled the firewall.