First alerts when installing for the first time.

Hi every one.

This is my first time using Comodo. I have used Zone Alarm (long time ago), and BitDefender and McAfee suits more recently. Compare to them, Comodo got more options to play with, and according with what I read better security.
I have a stupid question. According to comodo´s manual, after you intalled it and rebooted, the alerts start coming out for the applications that are not in the data base and since they are already installed to avoid using -treat as- “Installer or updater” or “trusted Application”. So what do I use? -Allow this request- only. However, I have to say that I got alerts telling me that the application was not recognized like java.exe or FireFox Browser. Should I not give those apps more rights, and in Global Rules I have only one rule to block. See attachments.

Could some one advise me how to handle those first alerts correctly ? and if any rule is missing from Global Rules. Thanks in advance and I appologize for my English before hand.

PC with Windows XP Pro SPK 3. Avast Home Ed. SpySweeper 5.8, and WinPatrol (paid)

[attachment deleted by admin]

[font=tahoma]I would suggest you allow Java to connect to the Internet and Mozilla Firefox as well because they’re legitimate. Just because they say this program (like Java) was not recognized does not mean that it is not legitimate. And I would suggest you give Mozilla Firefox a “Browser Only” rule.

The second screenshot is the default rule that Comodo Pro Firewall sets up after you first install it. The rules for you to decide, because there is (technically) not any “missing” rule. It is up to you and will depend on your motives and tastes. Like how you want your network set up and what rules you want and what you want to allow and not allow to connect to the Internet (whole point of a firewall).

Hi drragostea and thank you for your answer.