Firewall update always fails

I could really use some help with this.

I’ve been running the free Comodo firewall for a couple of years with no problems. A few weeks ago a friend recommended that I also install Threatfire. After that, I discovered that updates to Comodo would crash. Some hunting on the Web revealed that the problem was Threatfire. I uninstalled Threatfire, but the updates still crashed.

So I uninstalled Comodo from Add/Remove Programs, and then ran the CIS cleanup utility. I downloaded the latest version, but it had all sorts of problems. It never accepted my answers about trusted programs trying to access the Web. It wouldn’t add trusted programs to the internal list, etc.

So I repeated the removal procedure and went back re-installing the old version (4.1.150349) and I got the firewall up and running. Then I tried to update it again. This time I got further, but it got to the point of “copying cfp.ico to new file” and remained there for an hour. Additionally, cfpupdat.exe was taking up a fair amount of CPU time. I couldn’t kill the process so I had to shut down the machine manually and go through the who removal and re-install process again.

I’m now running the original version successfully, but I can’t update the software. Any suggestions?

My configuration is as follows.

Windows XP3 32 bit with all updates
Intel I7 920 CPU
4 GB RAM
Gigabyte motherboard
Other software installed:
Spybot
Superantispyware
Malwarebytes
Microsoft Security Essentials

If you want you can try reinstalling threatifire and then uninstalling it using Revo Uninstaller Free. Then follow the advice I give here to reinstall CIS. Please let me know if this works or not.

Thanks.

Thanks. I came across your advice earlier.

I tried re-installing Threatfire, then un-installed both Threatfire and Comodo with Revo, and re-installed Comodo. Same problem. Updates failed.

Any other ideas?