Firewall Settings ISSUE

big problem here. i’m fairly new to firewall configurations – this is my first 3rd party firewall. i wanted to lock my computer as tight as i could figure out how to, so i tweaked the CPF settings for a while till i was satisfied. i ran a few leak tests and passed them all (:CLP), including the Shield’s Up test on the web (which i finally got a “True Stealth” rating – never got that before due to port 113 blocking connections instead of remaining silent to them.) i was very pleased with the firewall except for the fact that things seemed too tightly locked and i was having some trouble doing some things i wanted to do on the internet. (go figure!) After more experimenting, I discovered that the Component Monitor was blocking my access. Off mode let me do what i wanted, Learn mode/On mode did not. So I began tweaking the permissions for individual components to find the culprits. After some time I came up with a minimal list of all the components that HAVE to be allowed on my system to browse in both IE7 and FireFox 2. Plus I left all the components for my other security apps allowed, which are all the progs i have on my system as of yet (coming off a clean install). I thought everything was as good as could be, but alas, today i kept having select problems accessing the internet, getting updates for AVG, checking mail, even coming to this forum! i played with it some more till it got old, and so i decided to just re-allow all the components. but that STILL didn’t fix things unless i switched OFF Component Monitor. :frowning: i then thought it might just be best to start over with NO components (and just re-allow them when prompted), so i removed all the components from the list in a frustrated swoop. but the firewall did not ask me again if i wanted to allow or deny them! i figured it would since they were no longer in the “list”. thinking i may have messed things up, i just decided to uninstall and re-install the firewall to return everythi