firewall pop up screen for allowing items is blank

Hello,
I have been running comodo firewall on my XP Pro machine for a few years now and never had any real issues or problems. However, when I turned that computer on today it started to do its updating to the newest version and then all of a sudden the screen that comes up to allow an item or cancel it was blank with just the option to allow or cancel visible.
During the time when the firewall was doing it’s update I suddenly got a screen for cpfconfg.exe and to put a disc into the drive - with the options to cancel, retry and something else. However, I have no idea why that screen would even come up and that is also when the blank comodo screen for allowing something became blank. I tried all 3 of the options for the cpfconfg.exe with nothing working - I even tried putting a disc into the cd drive and that did not help either. Eventually I had to just go to start and select to restart the computer in order to close both the comodo screen and the one about cpfconfg.exe (tried to end the task with task manager and that didn’t work either.

Anyway, after restarting the computer I had no internet connection any more and ipconfig /renew or any of the other options for ipconfig were of no help either. After looking for information on why I was getting a message that there was no media message in ipconfig (something like that) & trying all sorts of things I finally did a system restore to about a week ago (which was the last time I had that computer turned on) and I am now connected to the internet again and everything else is working just fine - except for the firewall. When I get the screen from Comodo for allowing something (have my settings set at safe) that screen is still blank and I have no idea what it is asking permission for. I eventually had to exit the program to stop those permission requests. I then tried to go to start programs and start the firewall again but all I get is a blank box.