Firewall blocks access to my own LAN... Temporarily...?

Howdy,

I am a Comodo newbie.

A moment ago I had the (free) Comodo Firewall set to “Custom.” Then, when I tried to browse my own LAN, I could not: I could see no other machine. Each share displayed its computer as “Unknown.” If I tried to browse, I got the error that I did not have access.

Next, I modified my Comodo setting to “Allow All.” In an instant, I could browse my LAN.

But then things got more interesting:

I changed the Comodo setting back to “Custom”, and could continue to browse the LAN with no problem.

What might cause this odd behavior? And what can I do to prevent the blocking in the first place?

Sincere thanks,

Kenneth

Can you please export your firewall logs and post them here so we can see what was going on.

Thanks in advance,
Ewen :slight_smile:

Hi Ewen,

I read the helpfile with some care in an attempt to learn how to dump the log, but had no success when searching for “log” or “logs.”

Next, I searched for “export” and the helpfile hung up.

I tried to close it, but could not because it was “locked by the system.”

Next, I tried to close Comodo, but it was also locked.

After a re-boot, I am now writing to you.

Can you assist?

Sincere thanks,

Kenneth

Hi again,

Well, the logging is not going to help…

Here were the steps I just took:

1: set Comodo to Custom

2: cleared the logs in Comodo.

3: attempted to browse LAN (all shares were “unknown.”

4: set Comodo to “Allow All”

5: refreshed LAN view (all shares visible)

6: set Comodo to Custom

7: refreshed LAN view (all shares still visible)

8: viewed Comodo log contents. Still blank.

Might you have any other suggestions to decipher this?

Thanks, as before,

Kenneth

My bad.

Should have said to ensure that ALL network monitor rules are set to create an alert (log entry) if the rule is triggered.

Sorry for that.

Hi again,

I appreciate your suggestion, but have no idea how to set it up.

Might you describe?

Thanks,