False alert on IntelliPoint (ipres.dll)??


I have used Microsofts Wireless Optical Mouse 2.0 for some years now, under different ant-virus programs: Norton, F-secure, McAfee and AVG etc.

Recently I activated the AV part in COMODO Internet Security and I receved an alert. TrojWare.Win32.GameThief.Magania.aays found in Program Files\Microsoft\IntelliPoint\ipres.dll

Since I just had uninstalled AVG I thought it was a new trojan on the harddrive, but COMODO found the same thing on the installation CD. So my guess is that this is a false alert, or?

The version I’m running is 3.8.65951.477, database 1027, and OS is XP Pro SP3.


You can submit the file to VirusTotal.com and see what the general consensus is there. If you feel it’s a false positive, you can always report them as directed here. How to report False Positives/Suspicious Files & How to Submit them.

Thanks HeffeD

The only Av program that indicateded that the file was infected on VirusTotal was COMODO.
I have now submitted the file as false positive to malwaresubmit.