explorer.exe and svchost.exe firewall question

When I had zonealarm pro, the firewall would always tell me that explorer.exe is connecting to the internet and would have automatic rules for svchost.exe, why doesn’t the comodo firewall have these programs listed in the rules?

edit: well, half of my question was answered, svchost.exe = “windows updater application.”

Greetings!

Now I’m not 100% sure, but I think CFP 3 has a default rule for svchost.exe. If you go to Firewall->Advanced->Network Security Policy->Application Rules, you should find an entry for %windir%\system32\svchost.exe. I think it has access to port 53, 67 and 68 by defualt, I’ve done some modification, so I’m not quite sure.

Now about explorer.exe, I don’t think it will ever need Internet access. explorer.exe is just the GUI for Windows, and it also launches most of the applications.

Cheers,
Ragwing

Sorry for digging up this thread, but I’ve been using Comodo Firewall Pro for 2 months now on Custom Policy Mode and only recently and everytime I start the computer, explorer.exe is requiring access to a port 80.

I blocked it, but the behavior of explorer.exe seems a bit strange, it came out of the blue.

Would anyone happen to know sth about it? I googled, but didn’t find sth.

Thank u!!

Here are my rules.

[attachment deleted by admin]

explorer.exe - in Windows XP, explorer.exe phones home to Microsoft with the results when you use the Search feature. In my setup so far, explorer.exe hasn’t had any legitimate need to access the Internet. Then again, I don’t use Windows Explorer as my main file manager.