Email proxy server...problem, closes

Hi. I am new to Comodo. I have installed the firewall and antivirus. (I had Kerio & AVG…paid versions.) Thought I would try something new, and heard good things about the firewall, so I’m testing them out.

I keep encountering problems when checking email with Eudora. First, I kept getting the same warning messages, over and over, even though I checked to remember my answer (something about Eudora being a server and using another program). The program downloaded an update that I’m hoping will fix that. Still trying to find out.

Now, the biggest problem with CAV is that it keeps popping up an error that says “Comodo Email Proxy Server has encountered a problem and needs to close…” (jpg attached) You hit okay, and it closes the popup. Eudora then can’t download emails it was trying to download. Eudora acts really slow and it acts like it’s going to lock up. It never does download the emails. I have CAV set not to scan outgoing email and turned off the mass mailer option. I also use Thunderbird for internet accounts, and it seemed to work better with it. I don’t have that much email coming through in Thunderbird, so it’s not a good test.

As I was typing this message, I had Eudora trying to check email, and I got another error popup! Some kind of buffer overrun. I’ve attached a jpg.

It is making checking for email for laborous. I finally uncheck incoming email so that Eudora can download my email.

Also, it is always downloading updates! (even though I have it set to check every 24 hrs.) And, there is no text at the bottom of the email saying it’s been checked. If it’s this problematic, I might have to go back to AVG. Does AVG work with Comodo firewall??

Thanks for your help. It appears many people on these forums are quite helpful, so thanks in advance for any help.
lani

[attachment deleted by admin]

Hey Lani,

Firstly, welcome to the forums.