Defense+ causes problems with Alcohol 120 [Resolved?]

Hi, first post here.
I have been using Comodo Firewall (now CIS) for 2 years now with minimal problems.
Today I upgraded to the latest version of CIS and I had the following problems:
When I tried to launch Alcohol 120% (latest version) it would give me a message that it couldn’t load the drivers that it needed and it would work with reduced functionality.
When trying to re-install Alcohol the setup program would fail to start the installation and would report an internal error.

In the end I saw that these problems would go away when I permanently disabled Defense+.
Another seemingly unrelated problem also disappeared. The game Crysis would crash when I tried to end the game and return to the desktop, this happening with the previous version of CIS too.
Now that I disabled Defense+ this has also gone away.

I’m using Windows 7 x64.

Did you try that?
https://forums.comodo.com/defense-sandbox-faq-cis/app-is-not-working-correctly-but-does-not-seem-to-be-sboxed-what-to-do-v5-t61684.0.html;msg434597#msg434597

Thanks for that. The problems with Alcohol and Crysis were solved by excluding the folders of those programs in Execution Control Settings.

This works but it’s a workaround after all, and others problems may be caused by Execution Control.
I still haven’t decided if I’m going to use or disable Defence+.

Can you tell me exactly what you did as you seem to have hit on a magic combination that allows Alcahol 120 to run. Lots off other users are waiting for a fix! You must have used some combination fromn my FAQ tat no one else has! Even better can you send me a config report. Please see the red text in the standard format sticky for a link to the config reporting tool.

Well done!

Mouse

Moving to help so you can hep others…

Hi Im new here as well but I have found out the following with the alcohol 120% issues