Component monitor

Hello. I have been using the Comodo firewall for almost two years. (Version 2.4.18.184.) The other day, for no particular reason, I was looking at it, and I noticed that the component monitor has been in the “learning” mode for all this time. Is there any advantage (or disadvantage) to turning it on, or should I just leave it alone?

Thank you to all who take the time to reply.

Welcome to the forums, rlprlp!

First, my apologies for the delay in replying to your post.

Having the component monitor “turned on” would be better, as it is checking by the various system components and would notify/block anything that was against the rules. In a “learning mode”, CFP presumes the activity is normal for your machine, and uses that activity to build a list of components that are then presumed good.

After this much time, CFP has probably built a very extensive list. But it will not have checked that list. At this stage, changing your settings to be “turned on” probably wouldn’t be effective, and could give a false sense of security. It would probably be better to stay with “learning mode”, and recognize that CFP isn’t checking all that it could. For your machine, that would be seem to be sufficient.

There’s more detail in the CFP on-line Help about the various settings for the component monitor, and what the monitor checks for.

Thank you for the reply, but your answer has left me a little confused. In your first paragraph, you state that turning it on would be better. However, in your second paragraph, you state that leaving it in learn mode would be better. This leaves me still uncertain as to what to do.

Sorry for the confusion. You have something of an atypical situation, that is leading to a judgment call on your part.