Complex Printer sharing

I’ve looked through several threads, and did not find anything that seems to relate directly to my problem. I’m a newbie to setting up firewalls, so I might have missed something.

I have three computers that are part of a workgroup and new corporate laptop that is part of a domain centered across the country. I just started using Comodo (2.4.18.184) and DSL with a wireless router and a hardware firewall as well.

I need to share printers with the three workgroup computers and this corporate laptop which is a member of a corporate domain. AFAIK, it can’t be both a member of the corporate domain and my little workgroup at the same time.

I’m not sure whether I can set a static IP address on the laptop because of corporate security constraints.

What do I do besides go back to my big name AV/Firewall?

I hope I’ve conveyed this without too much confusion. I certainly confused.

TIA

Welcome to the forums, tdh (:WAV)

I think we can help you out, but we will need some more info from you.

Regarding your local workgroup:

1. Are the printers local to the workgroup, or are they remotely located (ie, corporate)?
  2. Are the computers in the workgroup networked together in some fashion?
  3. Is CFP on all computers in the workgroup, or only your laptop?

LM

Thank you, it’s nice to be here.

1. The printers are connected to the main computer, which is a desktop.

2. The workgroup computer (a laptop and sometimes others) are connected via a wireless network.

3. CFP is only on the main computer right now. The home laptop uses Symantec and the corporate laptop uses something corporate for firewall/AV. I connect to the Internet using a connection to my 2wire connection point.

It looks something like this: P1-----Main —(wireless)-Home Laptop
P2-----Computer |(wireless)
| |
|----------------------Modem------- Corporate Laptop
|
Internet

P1 and P2 are two printers. P1 is connected via USB and P2 via parallel port.