Comodo Firewall v3 locks user out ((3.0.15.277, X32, XP)

I’m no IT expert but I’m far from a casual computer user as well, so I know my way around a firewall. The software looks very impressive and has many great reviews and scores on various tests, but I really feel that the ease with which it can completely lock out an administrator from their computer is very worrying. It happened to me within five minutes of installation.

I let it learn my programs that should be granted access to the internet, and then I opened up one it didn’t recognise, a PS2 emulator I was running an experiment on. Why it needed to access the internet I don’t know, but I decided to select the option to have the program’s details sent to the company site for analysis. Then the alert disappeared, but the program wouldn’t load.

So I tried it again, only to be told that I did not have sufficient access privileges to open that file. Or any file. Or the control panel. On any account on the computer. Effectively, for clicking that option, I had been locked out, and no amount of reboots or fiddling or waiting would clear the problem. So I went into safemode and uninstalled the firewall.

This may have been some kind of oversight on my part but when a product can have such a massive effect from a single unwitting error (and I don’t see where it could have been made) by an experienced user, it’s probably got some issues to work out. That’s why I’m sharing the information, not because I want to say “boo this firewall sucks”, but so you know that it’s having this effect at times and might be able to address it.

I posted this already in the feedback forum but was asked to bring it here as a bug report.

CPU: AMD Athlon 64X2 2200MHz
RAM: 1GB

Please add more details to your bugreport in order to explicitely state what kind of alerts you got.

Alerts comes in Two categories Defense+ and Firewall.
It would be very unlikely to lock such many resources denying a firewall alert.