Comodo Firewall 5.3 Does Not Block Inbound or Outbound in Default Safe Mode

Stats:
Vista x64 SP2 and all updates, around 2 dozen programs installed, all fairly popular and trusted (trusted being relative) (Word, Excel, Photoshop, PerfectDisk, Roxio Creator, etc.).
I’m a Computer Technician with ~25years experience, endlessly combating this big mess of customers problems and my own.
Well, by my own choice, I have to admit, so feel free to answer here with adult talk, 3rd grader talk (which I like better), or any other technical lingo. Comodo Firewall for Dummies.

Anyone aspiring to work in the computer field, I advise you not to do it. Work at McDonald’s instead :slight_smile:

Here’s my very bottom line first:
I installed Comodo Firewall yesterday (all default settings) and it isn’t blocking anything at all, in or out.

And there’s a reason for them to think default settings are fine. They are going on their new belief that if anything is in their 2 million strong ‘cloud’, it’s fine, otherwise it gets blocked.

My philosophy is, it’s all bad unless I say otherwise.

Thanks to that CF’s new loosey-goosey blocking methods, after I post this, I have to re-install Windows and all my drivers and software.

Somehow in the last 24 hours, since I installed Comodo Firewall and turned all others off (Windows firewall, modem firewall, and router firewall), I have somehow received something nasty.

All my programs are getting uninstalled one by one. First were my Sidebar gadgets (extremely obvious to see they’re not there). Next (that I caught anyway) was WinRAR (had zipped files on my desktop and their icon turned to a text file icon, exactly the same as a file with no associated program, which it hasn’t). Then AVG Anti-virus (no more taskbar icon) and my sound card drivers (sound quit).