Comodo Firewall 2.14.18.184 question

Hi. I am yjsk2100 and I downloaded and installed Comodo firewall 2.14.18.184 about 5 days ago. I wanted to have my HJT log checked since I had my computer formated from XPHome to XPPro and the person reading the log said log was fine except he noticed I didn’t have a firewall on my computer (I was using Microsoft firewall at that time.) He suggested a few firewalls to read about and I liked Comodo the best so installed it.

I am a complete newbie when it comes to firewalls. I read all about what was written on this site and some of it was over my head. It also appears most of the posters here have a general knowledge of Comodo. Yet this was the only forum I found for Comodo firewall and I know absolutely nothing.

When I installed the firewall I opened it up and the main page says the strength is Excellent. I got quite a few pop-ups from Comodo and when I clicked what they were most of them said Safe so I allowed and clicked Remember this decision. Some of them I was unsure of so I sent them to Comodo for reading (not sure what happens when this is done).

I have a few questions if you don’t mind:

1. When I open up Comodo on the main page right under the word Comodo it says…The firewall has logged 12 high security events (and at times it will say 16 and then it may say 0.) I click the 12 and it brings up the logs which has quite a long list. One of them is in RED and it is High but it does not say it was Blocked, just suspicious behavior schost.exe) What is this exactly? Are these programs that have tried to acces my computer and Comodo has blocked? And why do have so many of them?

2. After installation I went to Security and then clicked Scan for Known Applications so that Comodo knew what programs I had installed and would allow them. (Since this was a fresh format of my computer I felt this was okay to do? Was it or did I do something wrong?