Comodo Firewall 101 - Help Setting Up...

I am new to using Comodo Firewall. I am setting it up for a friend whom doesn’t know about firewalls. If you lead the way to securely set it up, I will follow. Also, can I disable all loopback connections from having to prompt me, or is this not a good idea? I don’t want automatic configurations, so do I have to manually set up any rules? Any thing else you can tell me? I am not a newbie to firewalls, just not familiar with this one and don’t know how it works and well how to configure it ruleset wise.

dja2k

Ummmm, I’m trying to figure out the advantage you’ll get in setting everything up manually when that will merely be replicating what the automated setup would do.

Did you want to do a manual setup so can gain a better understanding of what goes where, or did you have another reason? I’m quite happy to step you through things, but being a lazy IT guy, I’d rather tell you to click here, here and here, rather than type out 27 steps, particularly since we’ll end up at the same spot. :wink:

Ewen :slight_smile:

I agree with Panic…
Do a auto setup when you install, and then scan for known applications. You are still safe and save about 40 hours of work… ;D :smiley: :wink:
If you want popups for everything you can set the “alert frequency level” at the highest setting, and uncheck “do not show any alerts for applications certified by Comodo”.
I have both “skip loopback” checked, so i will also ask Panic about that… Is it safe to have them checked?

The local loopback checks are there to test internal connections only. If your system is clean and you have a known range of apps, IMHO, it’s safe to have these checks disabled. I usually turn them on if I’m testing an unknown app and I don’t know what connections it’s going to try and set up. with these check enabled, I get advised about the internal connections as well as the external connections.

Hope this helps,

Ok, thanks!